Åbo Akademi University as home university

Content of the fist year - Mandatory modules (40 ECTS)

Computer Engineering specialization (40 ECTS)

Software Technology I (20 ECTS from the following courses)

  • Cloud Computing (5 ECTS)

  • Development of client-side Interactive Web Applications (5 ECTS)

  • Databases 2 (5 ECTS)

  • Development of Server-Side Web Services (5 ECTS)

  • Parallel Programming (5 ECTS)

  • Code Optimization (5 ECTS)

Software Technology II (20 ECTS from the following courses)

  •  Project course* (10 ECTS)

Choose two of the following courses: 

  • Software architecture (5 ECTS)

  • Software testing (5 ECTS)

  • GPU programming (5 ECTS)

  • Advanced Course of Software Engineering (5 ECTS) Offered by the University of Turku

Computer Science specialization (40 ECTS)

Logic and Algorithms (20 ECTS from the following courses)​

  • Specification Methods (5 ECTS)

  • Computability and computational complexity (5 ECTS)

  • Databases 2 (5 ECTS)

  • Graph algorithms (5 ECTS)

  • Advanced Text algorithms (5 ECTS)

  • Cryptography and Network Security (5 ECTS) 

Project and Practice (20 ECTS)

  • Project Course* 10 ECTS

  • Lab Internship 10 ECTS

* In the Project Course, students will develop an IT project in teams over three periods in close contact with external customers from industry. The resulting projects are demonstrated in a popular student event, the ICT Showroom, which is a joint ICT student project competition among the universities in Turku. Many of the projects completed earlier in the course have been done in collaboration with local industry, and some have resulted in new start-up companies. 

Thematic module (20 ECTS)

The thematic module gives the students the opportunity to specialize in different domains by selecting one of the following thematic module:

Available thematic modules at Åbo Akademi University:

Industrial Internet

Choose 20 ECTS from the following courses:

  • System Architecture of Internet of Things (5 ECTS) (Spring)

  • Analytics for Industrial Internet (5 ECTS) (Fall)

  • Wireless Digital Communication (5 ECTS) (Fall)

  • Parallel programming (5 ECTS) or Code optimization (5 ECTS) (offered alternating years) (Fall)

  • Multidimensional Sensing Techniques (5 ECTS) (Fall)

  • Distributed Systems and Algorithms(5ECTS) (Fall)

Safety-critical and Autonomus Systems

Choose 20 ECTS from the following courses:

  • Real-time systems (5 ECTS) (Online course)

  • Software Safety (5 ECTS) 

  • Control of Discrete Event Systems (5 ECTS) 

  • Specification Methods (5 ECTS) (Fall)

  • Reliable Distributed Systems (5 ECTS) (Spring)

  • Autonomic Software and Systems (5 ECTS) (Spring)

  • Security Engineering (5 ECTS) Offered by the University of Turku (Spring)

  • Multidimensional sensing techniques (5 ECTS) (Fall)

  • Computational Data Analytics

​Choose 20 ECTS from the following courses:

  • Introduction to Data Science (5 ECTS)(Fall) Online course

  • Data Analysis with Visual Basic (5 ECTS)(Fall) Online course

  • Data Analytics Software (5 ECTS)(Spring)

  • Computational Modelling: Methods and Applications (5 ECTS)(Fall)

  • Machine Learning (5 ECTS)(Spring) Online course

  • Machine Learning and Algorithmics Seminar (5 ECTS)(Spring) Offered by the University of Turku

  • Machine Learning and Pattern Recognition (5 ECTS)(Spring) Offered by the University of Turku


Note: The compulsory modules Software Technology 1, Software Technology 2 and Logic and Algorithms may also be taken as thematic modules if they are not included in your specialization. However, the same course cannot be included in different modules 

N.B.: The above structure is based on the 2018-2019 syllabus of Åbo Akademi University. It might be subject to possible updates and modification by decision of the board of the Faculty of Science

and Engineering.

The indicated semesters (Fall or Spring) for the courses might be updated. A final schedule for the 2018-2019 academic year will be available during the spring 2018.